Student work: Feminist knitting festival poster

The assigmnet was to make a poster for a fictional festival using Gimp. I chose to make a poster for a feminist knitting festival.

I started with a picture of a pair of mittens I’ve knitted, and used the lasso tool to cut them out. Then I placed them onto a white background.

Skjermbilde 2014-12-10 kl. 12.12.02I copied the mittens several times to make a pattern out of them. Skjermbilde 2014-12-10 kl. 12.12.07I found a picture of Rosie the Riveter on wikipedia commons, and cut her out using the lasso tool as well. Then I placed her on top of the mittens.Skjermbilde 2014-12-10 kl. 12.31.23I decided to have a graded background instead of the white one, so I used the grading tool to grade the background from black to white, to make it less hard. I copyied the mittens several times so that it looked like a flower with Rosie coming out of them. I also added the famous slogan she is known for: We can do it!we can do itAnd this is my final result. On the botton I’ve written when the festival takes place (obviously on march 8th, the international women’s day), and where you can find some more info.

Photo credit:

Rosie the Riveter

Mitten photo: Ina Inglingstad

[Ina FKH1A]

This entry was posted in Student work 2014-15 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

