S T U D E N T W O R K : G I M P C O L L A G E

Our first assignment in our digital medias class, was to make a collage consisting of at least three pictures in Gimp. I have never used Gimp before, and struggled a bit, but had lots of fun exploring the different possibilities.

I knew I wanted to make a collage showing beautiful nature, and add some not-so-beautiful human elements.

arbeidskrav-3

I tried doing it all in black and white at first, but found it bitt too depressing and also too old-looking, which makes it harder to relate to.

arbeidskrav-1

I then added some more elements, amongst them birds. The pelican by the shore is covered in oil, but the three birds in the top right corner of the collage managed to escape. I changed the colors of the “human elements”; the oil rig, sinking ship and the oil barrels to an unnatural, almost  fluorescent color to highlight how out of place they are.

The final collage however, has a bit more optimistic outlook to the future:

arbeidskrav

The background picture got some color now, and the oil rig, oil barrels and the ship is now in black and white. I choose to look optimistically to the future 🙂

In theese three pictures I’ve used many tools in Gimp; paths and scissor tool to cut out the different elements, scale tool, to make them fit in the collage, smudge and brush tool, I changed the opacity of layers and I’ve altered the colors.

Kine 🙂

cc

Pictures are taken from Flickr, users;

Quas

Ken Hodge

Marc d’Entremont

Toufiq Siddiqui

This entry was posted in Student work 2013-14 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S T U D E N T W O R K : G I M P C O L L A G E

  1. Johnb219 says:

    mometasone spray over counter eedefkbeadkb

  2. Johnd951 says:

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds alsoI am happy to find a lot of useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . . efedbfkegekk

Leave a Reply

